mid year freak out book tag, tags, Uncategorized

The Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag 2018

Over the past couple of years I have seen this kind of post floating about, and yet for some reason have never entertained it. However, this year, I’m falling behind my Goodreads challenge more than ever!

I’m aware we’re a little bit over halfway through the year by now, but amidst the panic of being nowhere near where I should be, I thought this would be a good way of getting me to review what I’ve read so far and thus hopefully get my butt in gear.


1) The best book you’ve read so far in 2018

IMG_20180408_204322609-1.jpg

With the highly anticipated release of Love, Simon, I made it my mission to read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – and I’m so beyond happy this book made its way into my life. With realistic and relatable characters, and a non-clichéd love story guaranteed to make your heart melt, it definitely fights for the award of best YA book like… ever.

(full review)

2) Your favourite sequel of the year

I’ve only read one book which is part of a series this year, so the award goes to Monster by Michael Grant. To be honest, it would probably be granted this award anyway because I am just so undeniably in love with the GONE series and the world of the The FAYZ, and this is a stunning follow-up.

(full review)

3) A new release that you haven’t read but really want to

As a huge fan of Carrie Hope Fletcher, her latest book When The Curtain Falls came out very recently. I’ve found Carrie’s books to be wonderful holiday reads, but unfortunately I didn’t have time to pick it up before I jet-setted off this year – hopefully soon!

4) Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Oh dear. I’m really very bad at keeping up with new releases unless they’re from an author I follow closely… I guess seeing as the next instalment in the GONE series (or Monster trilogy?) Villain is out in a couple of months, it’d have to be that!

5) Your biggest disappointment

IMG_20180624_201105993_HDR.jpg

I was so, so disappointed when I found One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus to be extremely underwhelming. It had been circling both the book community and shelves for the past year, and I just couldn’t avoid the hype any longer… but I hated all of the characters and their clichéd tropes. Whilst it was a page-turner and made me want to find out what had happened, I just found I didn’t really care at the end of it all.

(full review)

6) Biggest surprise of the year

Actually, I think the biggest surprise for me would have to be Word Nerd by Susin Nielsen. I picked this up last week at YALC, partly because I love a bit of Scrabble, and partly because it was only £1. I brought it with me on holiday, and I actually fell so in love with the characters. I’ll be posting a review on it later on the month, but just know it’s such a heart-warming read!!

7) Favourite new to you or debut author

Becky Albertalli and Susin Nielsen, for reasons already explained!!

8) Your new fictional crush

I actually don’t think I have one so far!

9) New favourite character

Undoubtedly Simon Spier from Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens AgendaI relate to that boy so god-damn much, it’s insane. We’d definitely be close friends in a fictional life.

10) A book that made you cry

IMG_20180114_181329271.jpg

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick made me very emotional at the beginning of the year. It touches on a lot of personal issues, and I really feel like it allows you connect with the characters of Pat and Tiffany on a deep level. I found myself caring immensely for their progressions throughout the novel, and every new revelation felt like a punch to the gut. I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a cry!!

(full review)

11) A book that made you happy

Newsflash: this post has become a fan-post for Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens AgendaThe giddy butterflies I got from this novel was immense – I honestly cannot recommend it enough.

12) Your favourite book to film adaptation that you’ve seen this year

This year I both read and watched Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman. I saw the film first, but after reading the book I could confirm that the film did a wonderful job at injecting such a passionate and atmospheric side to the story. It’s definitely not for everyone, but I was blown away by both works.

13) Favourite post you’ve done this year

I’m extremely proud of my post An Introvert’s First Year at University. Not only did it help me get some thoughts out and reflect on what has been a crazy year for me emotionally, but I’m really proud that it has managed to help some people who are going off to uni next year. I love writing these more personal posts, and they prove to be very popular – but they can really take it out of you!

14) Most beautiful book you’ve bought this year

IMG_20180610_212500479.jpg

I’m really not one for buying books – but it has undoubtedly got to be Eve of Man by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher. Give me anything sparkly and I’m THERE. Also, it has my name written in Tom Fletcher’s own handwriting which is probably the most beautiful thing I’ll ever see.

15) What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

So…so many. I’m not even halfway through my target for the year. However, I have to read a LOT of books for my uni course which will have to be completed before mid-December, so hopefully that will bump it up!


And there you have it! This was a nice little reflection of what I’ve read so far this year – despite not having read as much as I’d like, I’ve certainly read some fantastic novels.

What’s your favourite book you’ve read this year? Do you have any goals for the remaining months?

blogsignout

Leave a comment