personality book tag, tags, Uncategorized

The Personality Book Tag

It’s time for another book tag whilst I drown in the the ultimate height of exam season. However, I saw Thrice Read do this tag a few weeks ago, and thought that it looked super intriguing. I, for one, am extremely interested in personality types, particularly the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), and so this combined with bookish topics sounded perfect.

What is your MBTI personality type?

I used the site 16 Personalities to determine this, which I have taken numerous times over the years. Honestly, I think it depends on the day as to how you are feeling because I have gotten an extremely close result between a couple of the categories. The result I usually get is an ENFJ, but the description for INFJ also fits me just as perfectly (E being extrovert and I being introvert) as I would usually class myself as an ambivert.

However, I’ll be going off ENFJ in this tag just for ease and lack of confusion ☺

What is your personality like?

ENFJ is classed as the ‘Protagonist’ personality type, in which we are “natural-born leaders, full of passion and charisma”. Strengths for an ENFJ include being tolerant of those with different opinions, reliable, and an eagerness to bring people together. On the other hand, weaknesses include being overly idealistic, being too selfless and sensitive when helping others, and finding it hard to make tough decisions.

ENFJs are also willing to meet new people and can do so with ease, and are simply happy knowing that their friends are happy. However, when helping friends in need, it can be hard for ENFJs not to overthink the situation, perhaps even beginning to see some issues in themselves.

If you were a character in a book, what would be some of your strengths and flaws?

Going along with the above description, I reckon I would be the definite listener and wisdom giver in a friendship group. Given the title ‘Protagonist’, I’d like to think I would be the literal protagonist of the book – the sort who is head-strong and is willing to give to others, but then perhaps fails by keeping their own insecurities and worries bottled up, not wanting to share the burden with others.

Do any authors share your personality type?

I couldn’t find any authors that I was aware of who are ENFJ which is so disappointing – but I can’t complain too much when I do share the type with both Barack Obama and Oprah Winfrey! However, I did learn that Charlotte Bronte was an INFJ which I absolutely love, as Jane Eyre is my favourite classic to date.

What fictional characters share your personality type?

Again, there aren’t many to list – apparently only two percent of the population is ENFJ which may explain this. However, I am so thrilled that Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice is on this list – I absolutely adore her character, and I completely agree that she fits the head-strong yet selfless type.

I have also seen some speculation online that Elle Woods from Legally Blonde is an ENFJ, and that is just as exciting as Elizabeth Bennet. Yay for strong women!

If you were a character in a book, what job would you have?

The main occupation that keeps re-occurring on these personality sites is a teacher, due to the leadership and charismatic tropes. However, I feel like that is a bit too boring for a character in a book, and I feel like I’d much rather be a leader or activist like Lottie from the Spinster Club series in her Vagilante campaign – empathetic, yet not afraid to get the point across. Although, I wouldn’t go as far as to say she was that tolerant of other’s opinions!

What personality type would complete your OTP?

ENFJ types take dating and relationships extremely seriously, not wanting to dabble in a casual approach. Thus, I would probably say ENFJs need other ENFJs, or other types looking for a serious relationship, in order to get very far. As ENFJs often retain sharing information, however, another ENFJ is probably not the best match as it may lead to a lot of things being unsaid.

It also says that ENFJs are willing to do anything to help their partner achieve their life goals, so a personality type which is willing to let others aid them also sounds compatible. However, as long as both partners are happy, there’s clearly no real rules as to what type fits what!

Who are some fictional characters that would complete your OTP?

Going off the information that INFPs and ISFPs are supposedly compatible matches, some of my favourite fictional characters which fit the criteria are Jane Eyre, Cosette from Les Misérables, and Legolas. Now, I’m certainly not complaining!

And that wraps up the Personality Book tag! I hope you enjoyed reading – it was certainly very informative. As I said at the beginning, I have always had an interest in personality types, and so it was really interesting to get a better feel for some of the types through fictional characters. I’m not going to be tagging anybody, but feel free to do the tag if you so wish!

blogsignout

2 thoughts on “The Personality Book Tag”

Leave a Reply

