favourites, Uncategorized

May: Monthly Favourites 2017

I cannot believe it’s already the end of May, and summer is upon us! Nevertheless, that means it’s time for some more monthly favourites ☺

Book

IMG_20170507_162812872

Undoubtedly, the best book I read this month was ‘Eden Summer’ by Liz Flanagan. The story follows a teenager Jess, who arrives at school one morning only to find that her best friend Eden has gone missing overnight. The mystery and suspense created, as well as the sheer amount of emotion, is immense, and the story is one which will stay with you for a long time. If you want to hear my full thoughts on my book of the month, you can check out my full review here.

Music

paramore

Despite having the inevitably tragic emo phase in Year 8, I was surprisingly never a huge Paramore fan – not because I didn’t like them, I’d just never really listened to them. However, when I heard a new Paramore single was coming out – ‘Hard Times – I decided to have a listen, and I was pleasantly surprised at how their sound has evolved.

‘After Laughter’ by Paramore combines upbeat, dance tunes with desolate and melancholic lyrics, creating an entirely unique sound. Every track is memorable – I’ve had many stuck in my head for hours at a time – and the album as a whole is entirely addictive. Whilst many are unhappy at the shift in Paramore’s sound, I believe it is a suitable transition, evolving with the current charts whilst remaining unique.

Favourite track: ‘Rose-Coloured Boy’

Film

gotg2

My favourite film that I saw this month just has to be ‘Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol 2‘. I have been excited for this movie for an extremely long time, ever since I saw the first film in fact, and thus I went to go see it as soon as I could. If you haven’t seen the first film, I highly recommend it – I am not a particularly big fan of action films, but ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ is truly something else.

Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol 2‘ perfectly combines action with comedy, to create an entirely unique type of Marvel film. All of the characters are extremely likeable with different personalities, and the plot is superbly gripping. But most of all, the soundtrack is wondrous, almost entirely comprised of real life songs from the 70s and 80s which are featured on Peter Quill’s mixtape in the film. Overall, it is a wonderful follow up to the first film with many more laughs and capers, and of course, the star of the show is 100% Baby Groot!

Beauty

IMG_20170528_170647569_HDR

Now, I know I go on about these sort of products a lot, but they’re the only real products I use on a day-to-day basis – plus, I have come across something truly amazing! The Skin Drink facial moisturiser from Lush which I mentioned in my April Monthly Favourites has done a superb job at making my skin softer, but it still wasn’t stopping my ridiculously dry skin from coming back at the end of the day. However, when I went to visit my Auntie this month, she gave me this Australian Bodycare Any Time Balm which she had seen, so I decided to give it a go.

And this product is absolutely amazing! The texture is slightly grainy, and so it works as a light exfoliator, rubbing away the dry skin. I put this on at the start of every day, and my skin stays just as soft all day.  In addition, the balm sinks in extremely quickly, so it does not leave a greasy feeling on your face. I have never found something that has worked so well as this before, so if you suffer from dry skin or chapped lips frequently, this balm will honestly work wonders!

YouTube

markferris

My YouTube pick for this month is Mark Ferris. Mark is a British YouTuber whose videos range from baking, to challenges, to honest Q&As, and to entertaining vlogs – there is seriously something for everybody. Not long ago, Mark became more widely known due to his heart-warming friendship with Zoe Sugg (Zoella), and I am so happy that I found him through her!

Whilst being ridiculously funny, what I love most about Mark is his honesty; he is not afraid to admit when things go wrong, and he doesn’t mind making a bit of a fool out of himself. On YouTube, it is increasingly hard to find those who portray a genuine version of themselves, as everything is so often sugar-coated – however, Mark does not shy away from being as honest as possible, and once you have watched a video or two, it is hard not to fall in love!

And so there you have my May favourites! I hope you enjoyed reading this, and let me know if you have any recommendations similar to these as I’m always eager to discover new things ☺

blogsignout

Leave a Reply

