tags, Uncategorized, unpopular book opinions

Unpopular Book Opinions

Unfortunately, exam season is upon us, meaning I have not had much time to read half as much as I want to. So, I thought I would do another book tag! I saw this post on Bex’s blog last summer and thought it provoked some really interesting answers, so I have finally decided to do it myself. This post has no intention to offend any readers or authors whatsoever – I promise!

(Original tag – TheBookArcher on YouTube)

1) A popular book or series that you didn’t like

img_20161119_134724534_hdr

This answer undoubtedly has to be ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon. People go absolutely mad over this book, and with the anticipation of the film adaptation coming out soon, the love for it has once again resurfaced. And I simply just don’t get the hype! I thought the plot was extremely cliché and unrealistic, with a very unsatisfying end and increasingly irritating characters.

I did a full review on ‘Everything, Everything’ last year if you would like to see my full thoughts on it and why I disliked it so much!

2) A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love

img_20161119_132052265

I wouldn’t say this is a book which EVERYBODY seems to hate, but ‘We Were Liars’ by E. Lockhart generally seems to receive a very mixed reception  – people either adore it or they absolutely detest it. In all honestly, I can see why others may be inclined to dislike this book as the writing style is extremely unique, and if you work out the ending it would be a very unsatisfactory climax.

However, I thought that the writing style only contributed wonders to the mystery and the confusion of the novel, and I did not suspect the ending in any shape or form, making the conclusion an extremely epic one for myself. It is quite a short read so I definitely think it is worth a go if you haven’t already, and see which side of the camp you lie on!

3) A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (OR an OTP which you do not like)

IMG_20170514_183320805

This answer was extremely obvious to me the moment I read it – it has simply got to be the love triangle in ‘The Hunger Games’ by Suzanne Collins. In my opinion, Katniss was much more suited to Gale – it is clear how much he adored her, and he understands her far better than anybody else in the novels.

Admittedly, in the films I believe Katniss and Peeta’s love was portrayed as a lot more genuine, and Gale appeared as just a close friend who Katniss owes a lot to. However, in the books it is clear that Katniss is never sure about her love to Peeta and she practically had to force herself to have feelings for him which I did not like at all.

4) A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

Undoubtedly it has to be the fantasy genre. I am fascinated by the worlds which are created in these stories, and the characters are usually thrilling, but for me it is the visual aspect which completely makes fantasy what it is, and I would much rather watch these stories unfold on the screen.

In addition, I find myself a lot more captivated by realistic plots and characters in novels, and this usually makes for a lot easier of a read; I have an extremely small attention span and so trying to make sense of new, complex worlds is not my idea of relaxing read. Fantasy novels also tend to have longer series’ which also puts me off picking them up as I prefer having lots of different books and plots to dive into. However, I have heard numerous good reviews about the ‘Throne of Glass’ series by Sarah J. Maas, mainly due to its diversity and strong female characters, so I am tempted to give this a go in the future.

5) A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

Oh dear. I knew what my answer to this would be instantly. One thing which I cannot stand, but see far too much of in YA fiction, is road trips. I cannot even count the number of books I have read which feature a girl and a boy running away together, either to escape from their parents or just to simply have a bit of fun.

Not only is this plot line extremely overused, but it is so unrealistic, and usually placed into a novel which deals with realistic and hard-hitting topics which creates such an odd contrast. Honestly, if a book features a spontaneous road trip I am generally inclined to dislike it a lot more – it definitely damaged my perception of books such as ‘All The Bright Places’  and ‘How Hard Can Love Be?’ when they were otherwise decent reads.

6) A popular series that you have no interest in reading

I have never had an interest in reading ‘The Mortal Instruments’ series by Cassandra Clare, most probably because it belongs in the fantasy genre. Despite hearing so much positivity about the series, and it being transformed into numerous successful screenplays, I have never once had an inclination to pick them up!

7) The saying goes “the book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

IMG_20170514_183119962

This has to be ‘Starter for Ten’ by David Nicholls. I watched the film first, admittedly around ten times before I even realised it was based on a book! However, the novel really disappointed me, and this was mainly because the characters were portrayed so wildly different to what I was expecting.

For example, in the film, the protagonist Brian Jackson is extremely lovable, dorky, and easily forgivable. However, in the book there were extra scenes not included in the film which showed him to be increasingly annoying, and I just could not click with him whatsoever. Likewise, the character of Alice is infuriating in the film, and yet her actions are fully justified in the novel – I even felt sorry for her!

Another film which I preferred to the book was ‘Legally Blonde’. The characters are much more dimensional in the film, and the whole plot just works better as the book tends to drag and get caught up in Elle’s lectures. I went into a lot more depth on why I preferred the film to the book in my review which you can check out here.

And that wraps up the tag! I left out a couple of questions because I didn’t have an answer, but if you are curious or want  you can check them out on the original tag video. I’m not going to tag anybody in particular – anybody can do it if they wish! Feel free to have a discussion with me in the comments if you agree or disagree with any of my unpopular book opinions ☺

blogsignout

5 thoughts on “Unpopular Book Opinions”

  1. You should totally read Throne of Glass series – we can verify that it has strong female characters (though at first you don’t see much of it, but you will)! As for Everything, Everything – we liked it but we too agree with the ending being a bit of a disappointment! Interesting post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Emily! I agree with number 4 – sometimes my brain just can’t take all the imagination it requires to create a fantasy world in my head, haha! Sometimes the visual effects on screen are so much better than the ones I manage to create in my imagination! This was a great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

