favourites, Uncategorized

March: Monthly Favourites 2017

March has been and gone in the blink of an eye, and my god did I obtain some real favourites this month!

Book

wp-1490541018583.jpg

My favourite book I read in March has to be the manga of ‘Sherlock: A Study In Pink’. Anybody who knows me will know that BBC’s ‘Sherlock’ is a huge love of mine, and it was so refreshing to revisit the story in comic form. The characters and the plot seamlessly translate to a manga style, and the artwork is truly stunning. This is a must-have for any ‘Sherlock’ fan – you can read my full review of the book here.

Music

marian hill

You will probably know Marian Hill best from their single ‘Down’ which featured on the Apple AirPods advert recently – at least, that’s how I and many others discovered their music. On a whim, I decided to take a look at the album on which the single featured, and in all honesty, I fell a little bit in love.

‘ACT ONE’ is an incredibly perfect album to have playing in the background whilst doing work, and this could not have come at a better time due to revision season starting. Whilst the tracks are not entirely different to each other, the electronic beats and Samantha Gongol’s delicate voice create a wonderfully calming atmosphere. If you’re a fan of ‘Oh Wonder’ and those alike, you will undoubtedly enjoy Marian Hill’s music.

Favourite track: ‘I Want You’

TV Show

Bojack Horseman

Now, this was an inevitable favourite. Around a month ago, I saw Dodie Clark (doddleoddle) talk about how obsessed she had become with ‘BoJack Horseman’. Like, seriously obsessed. She couldn’t stop watching. Ever the curious, I decided to download the entire first series on Netflix for a long car journey…and it was both the best and the worst decision of my life.

‘BoJack Horseman’ is an adult cartoon, set in a world which is populated by both humans and anthropomorphic animals. It follows BoJack Horseman, a former star of an extremely popular 90s sitcom, trying to revive his career and manage his relationships. The show is utterly absurd in all of the best ways, with ridiculous situations and jokes which make you laugh out loud. In addition, the cast is immensely talented, starring Will Arnett, Aaron Paul, Alison Brie, and Amy Sedaris in the lead roles.

But what makes this show absolutely genius is how the total absurdity is completely contrasted with the harsh reality of some of the topics. For all of the jokes, the show heavily handles issues such as mental health, animal cruelty, and abortion, both satirising society’s view of such supposedly taboo subjects and completely normalising them – all whilst being surprisingly educational. An episode which effortlessly portrays the beauty of the show’s contrasting themes is S3E4, ‘Fish Out of Water’, and subsequently one of the best episodes of anything I have ever watched.

I could write forever about ‘BoJack Horseman’, but in all, it is one of the most mature yet insane things I have ever watched; the sheer amount of emotion and talent it radiates over all three series is remarkably immense. One warning, however – for all of the melancholy and the heartbreak, it is truly, painfully addictive!

Beauty

wp-1491151761865.jpg

I received one of Lush’s Fun bars a few months ago for my birthday but have only gotten round to using it last month. I had heard mixed opinions about how well they work, but I am so surprised I haven’t used one of these before now!

These Fun bars have not one, not two, but THREE different uses. Yes, THREE. Not only do they act as a bubble bar for a relaxing bath, but you can also use them as both body wash AND shampoo. They are extremely easy to lather up and they last for an extremely long time, which is excellent considering they are a mere £5 – my hair has never felt so soft! I have the ‘Sea Monster’ sort which smells divine, but from my understanding they are available in tonnes of different scents and colours, and I cannot wait to try some more. My only criticism is that after a couple of uses you cannot keep them near the shower/bath as they do go rather soggy, but overall they are a great alternative to some of Lush’s more expensive bath and body products.

YouTube

aubreyanna

My YouTube pick for March is undoubtedly Aubrey Anna. I stumbled across her channel whilst shamelessly watching videos of people cutting their own hair – yes, I am one of those people. However, Aubrey’s channel really stood out to me from her opening title slides to her bubbly personality.

Not only is she just a delight to listen to, but her videos are so aesthetically pleasing. Aubrey radiates a beautiful vintage vibe as she takes you through her thrift shop hauls and quirky lookbooks; in addition, she has a divine singing voice which simply makes you melt. If you’re looking for somebody to fall in love with, Aubrey Anna is definitely the one.

And that wraps up my March favourites! If you have any recommendations for me or simply want to discuss anything I’ve spoke about, I’d be super happy to see you in the comments. I hope you enjoyed reading, and hopefully took away something to love yourself.

blogsignout

2 thoughts on “March: Monthly Favourites 2017”

Leave a Reply

