reflection, resolutions, Uncategorized

2016 Reflection & 2017 Resolutions

Happy New Year all!

This time last year I started up this blog with the hopes of it being something which I would regularly update, as I don’t have a very good track record of continuing things I’ve started… However, 44 posts later, I am very proud to have what I would consider a fully fleshed out blog, and I have had so much fun writing for it! In addition, I really feel like my writing style has took a life of its own, and writing is now something which seems to come naturally to me. Thus, I thought I would take a look back on the ‘Reading Resolutions & Reviews’ post I made this time last year to see what I have accomplished.

In 2015, I had an astonishingly bad year for reading as I was so preoccupied with my school work and exams. Therefore, I set myself the task of reading 25 books in 2016…and I am extremely proud that I achieved this target! I said in the post that I was hoping that this number of books would “submerge myself into the hobby I used to adore” and I can safely say that this has happened; reading has once again become one of my greatest pleasures and I couldn’t be more happy about it.

Funnily enough, I only read 4 of the 25 books which I initially planned to…Once I had gotten myself into the reading and blogging habit, it was extremely hard to stay away from new releases, particularly in the world of YA! However, half of the books featured were re-reads of ‘The Hunger Games’ and ‘Harry Potter’ series intended as motivation, so I am not particularly fussed that I did not achieve this as I was much more keen to discover new reading material. In addition, this year I undertook the ginormous task of reading ‘Les Misérables’ – and I am still astonished that I completed it within 17 days! This was a goal which I was not expecting to achieve this year, but nevertheless something which I am very pleased that I did.

img_20161119_134830945

I also took the decision to move my blog from Blogspot onto WordPress a couple of months ago. My main reason for this was because I felt WordPress had a much larger book blogging community, and whilst I was getting plenty of views, I wasn’t getting the interaction which I strived for with other bloggers. All in all, I am very happy I took the plunge, as not only is the appearance of my blog a lot more to my suiting, but I am much more pleased with the genuineness of the stats I am receiving.

So, that brings me to 2017. This year, I have pledged to read a total of 30 books on Goodreads! As always, you can check out the widgets in my sidebar which display: what I’m currently reading, what I’ve read, and my progress in the reading challenge so far, to give you an update if you’re ever curious or would like some recommendations. Seeing as I’m completely in the reading spirit, I won’t be setting myself any particular books as I did last year, because as you can see I didn’t stick to it, and I love having the freedom when I’m browsing in the library!

I also have a few personal resolutions I am going to make this year which I want to document here in order to reflect on them in a year’s time. These are:

  • Upload four blog posts a month – I managed to do at least three a month last year, so I am hoping that I can exceed that in 2017!
  • Take up a sport  – Playing tennis in the summer last year really showed me the benefits that sport can have on both your physical and mental health, so I am hoping to get stuck into something new – going to university in September will hopefully give me endless opportunities for this.
  • Continue to drink 2 litres of water a day – Choosing to document my water intake each day using an app has incredibly improved my well-being, and I encourage anybody and everybody to do the same!
  • Go outside every day  – Again, this is something which I believe will really improve my well-being, as I spend far too much time indoors! Therefore, any opportunity I get I want to make sure I leave the house at least once a day.
  • Cook a meal at least once a week – I absolutely adore cooking, but sometimes it can be hard to fit it into my schedule when I have work that needs doing. I feel like this goal is pretty achievable though, and it’s just something I love and want to make sure I indulge in!
  • Make decisions which are right for me – This probably sounds slightly ridiculous; however, I am notorious for turning things down due to fear, as well as feeling like I have a reputation or expectation to fulfil. Thus, I want to make sure that every decision I make in 2017 is me doing what I want to, and for the right reasons.
  • BE MORE POSITIVE!  – I feel like this is something which I have fervently worked upon in 2016, but I want to take it to the next level. For example, I have been finding it increasingly easier throughout the year to put a positive spin on stressful or negative situations, and so I’m hoping this can develop even further in 2017!

And that wraps up my 2016 reflection and my 2017 resolutions! Let me know if you have any similar goals in the comments as I would be very interested to know. I can’t wait to begin another year of blogging ☺

Here’s to 2017!

blogsignout

1 thought on “2016 Reflection & 2017 Resolutions”

Leave a Reply

